بدأت كلية بيت لحم للكتاب المقدس ب9 طلاب، وكان جميع المعلمين ما عدا واحد من خارج البلاد. اليوم، يقوم الرئيس القس جاك سارة، بمساعدة مجلس إدارة الكلية، بقيادة فريق من أعضاء هيئة التدريس المؤهلين تأهيلا عاليا. نحن نخدم كل عام ما يقارب 125 طالبا، وعلى مر السنين، تخرّج أكثر من 360 طالبا والذين يخدمون الآن في المجتمع الفلسطيني المحلي. لقد أنعم الله علينا بوجود العديد من تقاليد الكنيسة المختلفة- الأرثوذكسية والكاثوليكية والبروتستانتية- ممثلة في الهيئة الطلابية.

تجعل الاضطرابات السياسية في المنطقة والضغط من كونك أقلية مسيحية، الدراسة في كلية مسيحية في بيت لحم صعبة جدا. هذا هو السبب كوننا مؤسسة مسيحية ملتزمة بتفوق أكاديمي وتنشئة مسيحية، تسعى كلية بيت لحم للكتاب المقدس لتقديم الدعم في كل مستوى من رحلة الطالب التعليمية. ونحن نقدم للطلاب الأنشطة التي تدعم كل مرحلة من مراحل رحلتهم الجامعية.

هذه المراحل الخمس هي ما تسميه الكلية “رحلة كلية بيت لحم للكتاب المقدس”. وهي تشكل الأساس الذي يقوم عليه تنظيم الأنشطة الطلابية سنويا.

 التجنيد  التشكيل الروحي  التراث الثقافي  العمل الاجتماعي  جماعة الخريجين


التجنيد

في مرحلة التجنيد، تعقد الأنشطة لضمان أن يتعرّف الطلاب المحتملين في الضفة الغربية على كلية بيت لحم للكتاب المقدس، وتشجيعهم على تقديم طلباتهم، واثقون من أن الأمر يستحق الدراسة في الكلية.

التشكيل الروحي

كمؤسسة محورها الكتاب المقدس، تستثمر كلية بيت لحم للكتاب المقدس بعمق في التشكيل الروحي للطالب. تتغذى الحياة الروحية للطلاب من خلال خدمات الكنيسة مرتين في الأسبوع. في الكنيسة، يتم تشجيع الطلاب لمشاركة مواهبهم وعطاياهم من خلال الموسيقى والغناء، والشهادة، ودراسة الكتاب المقدس. تتم دعوة متحدثين في الكنيسة من خلفية متنوعة من التقاليد في محاولة لتوسيع آفاق الطلاب.

نحن نقدم لطلابنا أيضا رحلة رياضة روحية سنويا. هذا هو الوقت الذي يستطيع فيه الطلاب التفكير في كلمة الله والحصول على تعليم الكتاب المقدس في بيئة سلمية، بل هو أيضا فرصة للطلاب لقضاء بعض الوقت في الصلاة. تكون الموضوعات المختارة عادة ذات صلة باحتياجاتهم، على سبيل المثال، خلال الرحلة الماضية، تم منح الطلاب محادثات حول وجود علاقة وثيقة مع الله، والعلاقات والصدق في العمل.

التراث الثقافي

نظرا إلى الصراع السياسي المستمر في المنطقة، لا تتعدد فرص الطلاب في كلية بيت لحم للكتاب المقدس في الوصول إلى الأماكن الدينية والثقافية والتاريخية في وطنهم. لذلك، تنظم كلية بيت لحم للكتاب المقدس رحلتين سنويا، والتي تكون تعليمية بالشكل الرئيسي، ويتم بذل الجهد فيها من أجل تعريف الطلاب على المنطقة التاريخية التي يزورونها. تتضمن هذه الرحلات أيضا أوقات للعبادة في الصباح وأوقات للشركة.

العمل الاجتماعي

على مدار العام، يشارك الطلاب في ثلاثة أعمال خيرية للمجتمع. هذه الأنشطة هي أولوية، إذ لا يقوم الطلاب بتلبية احتياجات مجتمعهم فقط، ولكنه يعطيهم المجال للتفكير في نوع الخدمات التي يمكن أن يشاركوا بها في المستقبل. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تقوم جمعية الراعي، وهي الذراع الإنساني لكلية بيت لحم للكتاب المقدس، بالإشراف على توزيع المواد الغذائية للأسر المهمشة في منطقتنا مرتين سنويا. تتم دعوة الطلاب للمشاركة في خدمات عملية من خلال المشاركة في هذه الأنشطة ومن خلال الخدمات الرياضية، والرياضة الروحية للشباب، والمخيمات الصيفية.

جماعة الخريجين

تخرج أكثر من 360 طالبا وطالبة من كلية بيت لحم للكتاب المقدس، وهم يؤدون الآن العديد من الأدوار المختلفة في مجتمعاتهم. هم لم يستمروا فقط في خدمة اسم الله، ولكنهم أصبحوا أيضا معلمين ورجال أعمال وطلاب دراسات عليا. يتم تنظيم عشاء خريجي كلية بيت لحم للكتاب المقدس من أجل ربط هؤلاء الطلاب الخريجين معا. وقد أثبت هذا الحدث أهميته كمكان ممتاز لتواصل الطلاب، وإحياء العلاقات وتعزيز التشجيع المتبادل.

Bethlehem Bible College began with nine students and all but one of the teachers were international.  Today, President Rev. Jack Sara, with the help of our Board of Directors, heads a team of highly qualified faculty and staff from the local community. Every year we serve roughly 125 students and over the years have graduated over 360 alumni who now serve the local Palestinian community. We are blessed to have many different church traditions—Orthodox, Catholic and Protestant—represented in the student body.

The political unrest of the area and the pressure of being a Christian minority make studying in a Christian college in Bethlehem quite challenging. That is why as a Christian institution committed to academic excellence and Christian formation, BBC seeks to offer support at every level of the student’s educational journey. We provide the students with activities that support every stage of their undergraduate journey.

These five stages are what the College calls ‘The BBC journey’. They form the foundation upon which the student activities are organized annually.

untitled-2

Recruitment

In the recruitment stage activities are held to ensure that prospective students in the West Bank know about BBC, are encouraged to apply and are confident that it is worth studying at the College.

Spiritual Formation

As a Bible-centered institution, BBC is deeply invested in student spiritual formation. The spiritual life of our students is nurtured through chapel services twice per week. In Chapel, students are encouraged to share their talents and gifts through music, song, testimony, and Bible study. Chapel speakers are invited from a diverse assortment of traditions in an effort to broaden the students’ perspectives.

We also offer our students an annual student retreat. This is a time where the students are able to reflect on God’s Word and receive Biblical teaching in a peaceful environment. It is also an opportunity for the students to spend time in prayer. The topics chosen for the retreat are pertinent to their needs, for example, at the last retreat the students were given talks about having a closer relationship with God, relationships and honesty at work.

Cultural Heritage

Due to the ongoing political conflict of the area, BBC’s students do not have many opportunities to access religious, cultural and historical places of their homeland. Therefore, BBC organizes two field trips each year that are mainly educational, and effort is put to inform the students about the historical area they are visiting. There are also devotional times in the morning and times of fellowship.

Social Action

Throughout the year the students participate in three charitable outreaches to the community. These activities are a priority since the students not only meet the needs of their community but also begin to think of the kind of ministries in which they can be involved in the future. Furthermore, twice per year the Shepherd Society, the humanitarian arm of BBC, oversees a food distribution to marginalized families in our neighborhood. Students are invited to take part in practical ministry outreaches through participation in these activities and through sports outreaches, youth retreats and summer camps.

Alumni Community

More than 365 students have graduated from Bethlehem Bible College and they are now performing many different roles in their communities. They have not only kept serving in the name of God, but they have also became teachers, business people and graduate students. Bethlehem Bible College Alumni dinners were established to connect these graduate students together. This event has proved to be an excellent place for students to network, rekindle relationships and promote mutual encouragement.